Sale of Voter Registration Lists



Any registered voter in South Carolina can purchase a list of registered voters. The list is available in the following formats: tape, diskette, mailing labels or printed report. Voters can be selected by any combination of the following: county, election district (house, senate, congressional, county council, city council, school district, etc.), age, sex, race, household, participation in a particular election, and date of registration. Please see the notice concerning all requestor of records listed below.*
Minimum charges:

$ 75.00...........Printed list or mailing labels

$ 160.00...........CDs

For more information, contact the SEC at (803) 734-9071

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE A LIST ONLINE

*NOTICE TO ALL REQUESTORS OF RECORDS

State law requires every public body to provide the following notice to all requestors of records:

Obtaining or using public records for commercial solicitation directed to any person in this State is prohibited under South Carolina Code Section 30-2-50 .

In addition, a person or private entity shall not knowingly obtain or use any "personal information" obtained from a public body for commercial solicitation directed to any person in the State. Section 30-2-50(A) . "Personal information" is defined as follows: Information that identifies or describes an individual including, but not limited to, an individual's photograph or digitized image, social security number, date of birth, driver's identification number, name, home address, home telephone number, medical or disability information, education level, financial status, bank account(s) number(s), account or identification number issued by and/or used by any federal or state governmental agency or private financial institution, employment history, height, weight, race, other physical details, signature, biometric identifiers, and any credit records or reports. Section 30-2-30(1).

PENALTY: A person knowingly violating the provisions of 30-2-50(A) is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars or imprisoned for a term not to exceed one year, or both. Section 30-2-50(D) .